Game Munchkin Cthulhu [Excess Notes]

All this information comes from the WorldofMunchkin website.

Q. The rules say one thing. This card says another. What do I do?
A. As with most card games, the whole point of many of the cards is to bend the rules. So cards override rules.

Q. If you have to lose items, do you lose the ones from your hand, or just those on the table?
A. Always, always, only those on the table. Those are the only items you have; while they are in your hand, they're not carried items yet. If you are meant to lose cards from your hand, this will be specified.

Q. Can I use two Half-Breed cards to be more than two races, or two Super Munchkin cards to have more than two classes?
A. No. Unless you want to make it a house rule, of course.

Q. Can I use Half-Breed to be the same Race twice, or Super Munchkin to be the same Class twice, and get double benefits?
A. Gaaah. No. (My father was an elf, and my mother was . . . an elf!) Each player may have only one copy of a Race or Class in play. In other words: If you are a Half-Orc and have another Orc card, you can not play it on yourself without discarding the Orc card already in play.


Q. When using Super Munchkin or Half-Breed, can you discard one of your races or classes and replace it with another, or just not replace it?
A. You can turn from a half-breed dwarf-elf to a half-breed dwarf-human, or, if you have the Halfling card, dwarf-halfling. This doesn't make you lose Half-Breed. Super Munchkin follows a similar principle, but must always have two classes; if you can not legally supply a second class immediately, then Super Munchkin must be discarded.

Q. What happens when you die? Do curses that persist go away?
A. There are a number of curses that persist, like Tiny Hands, Big Feet, Sex Change, Chicken on your Head and so on. Most of these curses can only be gotten rid of with a Wishing Ring or perhaps some luck, but Death is not one of them. If a curse persists, its effects transcend death. Remember, your new character looks like the last one. So, if your sex was changed, you are still your new sex (but very likely you died because of combat so that pesky -5 is gone), you still have Big Feet or Tiny Hands, and if you didn't have Headgear on when you died, that stinking Chicken is going to roost on the head of your new character. Sucks to be cursed, but, well, you knew that. . .

Q. How about other items which are "usable once only"? Do they work like potions?
A. All one-shot items (those which say "usable once only") may be played directly from the hand unless the card says otherwise (and right now, none of them do).

Q. If a card that affects your "next combat," like a sex change, is played on you during a combat, does it affect THAT combat, or the next one you're in?
A. If the combat is still unresolved (and obviously it is, because people are still playing cards on you for it), then that combat is the "next" one.

Q. Exactly when do you die, and how long do you stay dead?
A. You die when you get Bad Stuff that says you're dead. If you were fleeing from other monsters, you are excused from their Bad Stuff, because you're dead. You STAY dead only until the next person's turn starts. Your new character appears at that point and may join normally in the combat, though you will get no new cards until someone gives you charity or your next turn starts.

[LOL:]
Q. Do I have to run away? What if I WANT to die?
A. Your character does not want to die. Your character will always TRY to run away. If you want to die, then hope for a bad die roll.

[LOL:]
Q. Can I play Go Up a Level cards on another player to make him go up to a level such that a Monster that would previously ignore him will now chase him?
A. This is not the original intent of Go Up a Level cards, but this is such a munchkinly and vile idea that we like it too much to say no.

Q. Does the "2.6 seconds rule" apply to defeating a monster without killing it, or just to killing it?
A. Any sort of defeat. If you defeat it without killing it, other players still have about 2.6 seconds to play an applicable card to frustrate you.


Q. Is the initial sex of a character the same as the sex of the player, or can it be chosen?
A. The intent is that it be the same as that of the player. The designer has no objection to being overridden by house rules, though. And note that a Munchkin T-shirt will change your sex for game purposes.

Q. Can you sell items that total less than 1,000 gold, just to get them out of circulation?
A. No. If the items aren't worth a total of at least 1,000 gold, you can't sell them.

Cthulhu Bumper Sticker does not require a hand.

No comments:

Let me know what you think!